25 States Have Enacted False Claims Acts

As of October 1, 2009, 25 States have enacted their own State False Claims Acts.  Most of the State False Claims Acts are modeled after the federal False Claims Act, and provide that qui tam whistleblowers can bring claims on behalf of the state. There are, however, important differences between these State False Claims Acts, and potential whistleblowers must pay careful attention to the specific requirements of each statute.

The following is a list of the 25 States with State False Claims Acts:

California, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Oregon, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Texas, Wisconsin, Virginia

In addition, the District of Columbia, New York City, and Chicago each have enacted False Claims Acts.

Each of the 25 State False Claims Acts can be viewed on the Internet at  http://www.falseclaimsact.com/sfca_overview.php

Contact one of our

Experienced Attorneys

If you are aware of any person, corporation or entity that you think may be violating the Federal False Claims Act or a State False Claims Act, contact us today.